The Regions of Morocco

The Kingdom of Morocco is divided into 16 regions. Each region is governed by a Wali which is nominated by the King. 

Oued Ed-Dahab-Lagouira is the southern region of Morocco being located  in the disputed territory of Western Sahara. The capital is the city of Dakhla. Laâyoune-Boujdour-Sakia El Hamra is located partly in the disputed territory of Western Sahara. The capital of this region is El Aaiún.

Guelmim-Es Semara has Guelimn as it’s capital. Has of it’s southern part is located in the teritory of Western Sahara.  

Souss-Massa-Draâ is located in the central part of Morocco.It has a population of over 3 mil people. Souss-Massa-Draâ’s capital is called Agadir, a city situated on the shore of the Atlantic Ocean.  
Gharb-Chrarda-Béni Hssen is a north-western region of Morocco with the capital at Kenitra.In ancient times this region was an element of Mauretania Tingitana, which was ruled in early times by the Phoenicians and later the Romans.
Chaouia-Ouardigha is like the region Gharb-Chrarda-Béni Hssen situated in the north-western part of Morocco and it’s capital is called Settat.
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz represents the region of Morocco which capital is the popular city Marrakech. It is situated in the central part of the country.
Oriental, located in north-eastern Morocco, this region borders Algeria and the Spanish enclave of Melilla. The capital is Oujda.
Grand Casablanca situated in coastal north western Morocco it is the most densely populated region of Morocco. It’s capital, Casablanca is the economic capital of Morocco. 
Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer is located in north-western Morocco. The capital is Rabat.
Doukkala-Abda is situated in west-central Morocco.  The capital is Safi.

Tadla-Azilal is located in central Morocco. The capital is Beni Mellal.

Meknès-Tafilalet is situated in north-central Morocco, bordering Algeria. The capital is Meknès.

Fès-Boulemane is situated in northern Morocco.  The capital is Fès.

Taza-Al Hoceima-Taounate  is located in northern Morocco.The capital is Al Hoceima.

Tangier-Tetouan  is situated in north-western Morocco. The capital is Tangier.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s